Planning Commission


The Planning Commission, a twelve member commission appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council, meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers 680 Park Avenue. 

The Planning Commission shall examine all proposals, applications and petitions and shall make recommendations to the City Council concerning the zoning of properties within the City and properties to be annexed thereto.  The commission shall recommend to the Council changes regarding the City's comprehensive plan.  The commission may suggest changes in the Zoning Ordinance and shall study and make recommendations for the laying out, widening, extending and locating of streets, roads and highways in the City, the future development, growth and beautification of the City's streets, parks, grounds and lands.  The Planning Commission shall have all powers and duties assigned to it by the Zoning Ordinance.   It shall act in a advisory capacity to the Board of Adjustment when requested by the Board.  All maps, plats and replats of land which require the approval of the Council shall be submitted first to the Planning Commission for its recommendations.  The Planning Commission also shall perform other duties required under state law or as directed by the Council.



Current Members: 


Natalie Black

Joanne Denney

Brent Dixon

Julie Foster

Darren Josephson

George Morrison

George Swaney

Margaret Wimborne


City Code Section 2-2 Planning Commission