What are categorical pretreatment standards?
Categorical Pretreatment Standards limit the pollutant discharges to POTWs from specific process wastewaters of particular industrial categories. These national technology-based standards apply regardless of whether or not the POTW has an approved pretreatment program or the IU has been issued a control mechanism or permit. Such industries are called Categorical Industrial Users.

The standards are promulgated by EPA in accordance with Section 307 of the Clean Water Act and are designated in the Effluent Guidelines & Limitations [Parts 405-471] by the terms "Pretreatment Standards for Existing Sources (PSES)" and "Pretreatment Standards for New Sources (PSNS)."

Show All Answers

1. What are prohibited discharge standards?
2. What are categorical pretreatment standards?
3. What are local limits?
4. Who needs to develop local limits?
5. What is wastewater?
6. How is wastewater treated?
7. What if my sewer is not flowing normally?
8. How often should I clean my grease trap or grease interceptor?